Louisiana Massage Therapy Laws
Does the Louisiana Massage Board accept Massage Specialties CEUs courses?*
We are in the process of renewing our approval with the Louisiana Massage Board. Please contact the LA Board first before purchase.
Chapter 39 Requirements for Board Approval of Continuing Education Providers and Programs
§3901. Continuing Education Provider Requirements
A. Board Approval Requirement. For the purpose of renewing or reinstating a license, credit for Continuing Education Units (CEUs) will be awarded only for providers and programs approved by the board. Each provider must make application for board approval on forms provided by board, submit a fee of $100 for an initial request for provider approval and $100 for a bi-annual request for provider renewal, and a fee of $50 program application and demonstrate that the provider will meet the following requirements.
1. The provider must have approval, in writing, from the board before disseminating any notices that their program is approved for license renewal credit. In the event a provider does advertise approval by board and approval has not been granted in writing, that provider may be subject to a $1,000 fine and for a two year period no application for approval of continuing education programs by provider will be considered for approval. At the end of that two year period the $1,000 fine must have been paid before any applications are considered for any future programs by that provider. B. The continuing education provider must provide in writing, to the board, the name and address of the person responsible for insuring that each program meets the following requirements.
C. Authority to Review and Revoke Approval. The board retains the right and authority to audit and/or monitor CEU providers and/or programs. The board may at any time may evaluate any provider and/or program and deny, revoke, and/or decline to renew approval of that provider and/or program for good cause. This right to deny, revoke and/or decline to renew approval includes, but is not limited to, the right to deny, revoke and/or decline to renew approval if the provider has disseminated any false or misleading information in connection with the continuing education program or if the provider has failed to conform to and abide by any governing standards, rules and/or written agreements concerning the provider and/or program.
D. Approved Providers. Subject to Subsection B above, providers may obtain approval from the board upon making application on a form approved by the board, submitting a fee of $100 for an initial request for provider approval, and demonstrating that the provider will meet the following requirements:
1. The provider must retain a "sign-in sheet" with the signature of participants and copies of any promotional materials for at least four years following each program. The provider must furnish each participant with a certificate or letter of attendance verifying that the program has been completed. The certificate or letter shall not be issued until completion of the program and shall contain the provider's name and number, the title of the program and instructor, the date, the number of CEU hours, and the licensee's name and license number. Within 30 days after the program, the provider must send a copy of the sign-in sheets to the board, together with a listing of the names and addresses of the persons who received a certificate or letter of attendance for the program. A CEU Certificate cannot be issued for less than the number of hours approved.
2. Each program presented for Louisiana CEU credits shall be relevant to and focus on massage theory, practice, methods, or laws, regulations and ethical principles pertaining to the practice of massage therapy and shall have stated learning objectives. No Louisiana CEU credits will be approved for programs that include instruction in diagnosis, the treatment of illness or disease, or any service or procedure that otherwise exceeds the scope of massage therapy as defined by R.S. 37:3552(5).
3. Each program presented for Louisiana CEU credits shall be taught by a person who: a. holds a minimum of a bachelor's degree from a college or university which is accredited by a regional accrediting body recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, or a substantially equivalent accrediting body of a foreign sovereign state, with a major in a subject directly related to the content of the program to be offered; or b.i. has completed at least five years of professional experience in the practice of massage therapy; and ii.(a). has, within the last three years of professional experience, taught a program in the subject matter at least four times; or, (b) has completed at least 100 hours of nonentry level education in the subject matter to be offered and has a minimum of two years of professional experience in the subject;
(c). was approved by the board as a presenter prior to January 30, 2002.
4. The provider must provide to the board, in writing, the name and address of the person responsible for ensuring that each program meets the requirements of Paragraphs 1-3 above and said person shall so certify in the application for provider approval.
E. Providers must have approval, in writing, from the board before disseminating any notices that their program is approved for license renewal credit. In the event a provider does advertise approval by the board and approval has no for approval of continuing education programs by that provider will be considered for approval. The fine must be have been paid before any applications are considered for any future programs by that provider.
F. Program Approval. Providers approved pursuant to Subsection A above may obtain approval for all programs to be offered for the full duration of their two-year period as anapproved provider. Providers may obtain program approval by making timely application on a form approved by the board, submitting a program fee of $50 that will cover allprograms within the two year period that is exactly the same material presented and the same presenter. The provider must demonstrate that each program and presenter meets the requirements of Subsection A above. The provider may amend the program application at any time during the two year period to add additional programs and/or presenters after an application has been approved by the state board and a $50 fee has been paid. Approval for a particular program will be denied if sought later than 45 days before the start of the program.
G. Out-of-State Program Approval. A Louisiana licensee or licensees may request approval of an individual out-of state program that has not been approved pursuant to the foregoing provisions by submitting 45 days before the date of the program, an application form approved by the board, all materials showing curriculum objectives and Subsection D above and a program review fee of $50. If the individual licensee is seeking approval for multiple programs offered at a national convention of a professional massage therapyorganization, only a single $50 fee need be paid by the licensee to seek approval for the multiple programs. Approval shall be for the program sessions attended by the Louisiana licensee(s).
H. Other Program Approval. Louisiana licensee or licensees may request approval of a non-standard program that has been approved pursuant to the foregoing provisions. The licensee must submit an application form issued by the board, 45 days before the date of the program, accompanied by a program review fee of $50. This form may be used to apply for approval for such things as but not limited to, college courses or published works by the therapist, to be used in lieu of CEUs for the given year. Protocols for such proposed programs will be established by the board.
I. Provider Renewal. A certificate from the board approving a provider pursuant to Subsection F above shall be valid for a period of two years from the date that the certificate was issued. During the certificate renewal period, an application for renewal will be mailed to the provider at the last address supplied to the board. In order to obtain renewal of the certificate, the provider must return the completed renewal form to the board on or before the expiration date of the current certificate, together with a provider renewal fee of $100. Failure to renew your application by the second anniversary (expiration date) will result in loss of provider status and all programs will become null and void. Failure to abide by the following standards will result in the revocation of the providership for a period of five years.
J. Statement as to Approval
1. The provider of a program approved for Louisiana CEU units may announce or indicate in advertising, promotional and other materials as follows :
"Approved by the Louisiana Board of Massage Therapy for a maximum of ____ hours CEUs".
*Please read the full scope of your state laws to be well informed.